Showground

Down by the dodgem cars

Colleen Millsteed
1 min readJul 2, 2021

--

Photo by Markus Spiske on Unsplash

When we met it was at the Showground
Near where the Dodgem Cars raced,
You told me about the thorns in your side
People in your life treating you with distaste,
And I cried.

You had me so completely and utterly fooled
I believed your words and you had my support,
Not understanding why they were so cruel
I started to question and you were caught,
In your lies.

You tried to backtrack on the story you told
Back at the old house where you stayed,
You told me all the things that I wanted
You were wrong and I tried to convey,
You implied.

You insisted there was someone else
Although you are an unfair and cruel lover,
There was never anyone, anyone but us
And I would rather have no other.
Terribly unwise.

Thank you for reading.

If you enjoyed this piece, you may also enjoy this one.

Originally published at https://vocal.media.

--

--

Colleen Millsteed

Top Writer in Poetry. I’m a Finance Manager with a love of both numbers and words.