All In A Day’s Work

A day in the life of a road train driver

Colleen Millsteed
10 min readAug 13, 2021

--

All In A Day’s Work. A day in the life of a road train driver. Written by Colleen Millsteed.
Photo by Craige McGonigle on Unsplash

I am very proud to be able to say this piece has been chosen as a finalist in the Vocal Fiction Challenge.

“Breaker one nine, are you out there,” I query over the CB radio, as my road train barrels along the Stuart Highway, in the Northern Territory of Australia.

Silence. Silence all around. Silence on the CB and silence out on the road. It’s like there’s not another soul in a 100 kilometre radius of me. I can hear the noise of my truck as my tyres burn up the miles. I haven’t seen any car, or truck lights for hours. I wonder at times like this, maybe something has happened in the world and I’m the last one alive, but then I hit civilisation and laugh at my wild imagination.

I try the radio again, “Breaker one nine, do you have your ears on? This is Little Dove and I was hoping for some chit chat to keep me company. Breaker, yell out if you’re on here bud.”

Still more silence. I heavily sigh and give up on the chat as I reach for the radio and turn up the music.

Barrelling along the Highway in the middle of this beautiful country, when I glimpse something on the side of the road in the distance. Is that? No it can’t be. But it is! There standing…

--

--

Colleen Millsteed

Top Writer in Poetry. I’m a Finance Manager with a love of both numbers and words.